#ThankfulThursday – End of July Version

This is last November 19th in Steamboat. I was getting chest-shots in November. I had to hike up, of course. I am thankful for Steamboat, snow and the ability to enjoy it.

This is last November 19th in Steamboat. I was getting chest-shots in November. I had to hike up, of course. I am thankful for Steamboat, snow and the ability to enjoy it.

First! Let’s get caught up on some happenings. As someone who has spent a ton of time volunteering, this trend in “volunteerism” or volunteer tourism is for sure interesting to me. Regardless of the intentions behind 20-somethings volunteering, it seems to be growing.

But I do understand the opposing side. Just last week I was doing a phone interview and just mentioned off-hand spending some time at orphanages in East Africa. The lady immediately said, “You should put that on your resume!” I had never even thought of it. So it is the chicken and the egg thing. Is this a trend because desperate unemployed college graduates needed something extra? Or did employers start looking for something to separate applicants? Probably putting too much thought into this.

On to the thankfulness!

  • Blueberries, Honey Nut Cheerios and Coffee. Always.
  • Understanding and supportive parents. And extended family. And friends.
  • My friend Daniel and his contagious passion for bouldering.
  • The humility from a 20-mile ride in a Colorado monsoon.
  • Lessons learned.
  • The hues of soybeans against wheat against bluebird skies.

If you haven’t seen, below are some links to some recent published writing projects. I hate to continually push this onto my beloved readers, but if you have made it this far into this post you either care about me or enjoy my writing. So, check out these links. If you don’t want to read them, click on them and leave your browser open for 60 seconds. Media organizations look at what people click on and how much time they spend on those pages. Since I will be unemployed starting tomorrow afternoon, extra clicks cannot hurt how previous and future employers view my writing. Sorry. I know. I am not proud of asking this.

http://tippingthescales.com/2014/07/i-dropped-out-of-law-school-before-starting/

http://www.mountainonline.com/mountain-biking-goes-evel-knievel-butte-montana/

Enjoy the Thursday and look for things to be thankful for!

2 thoughts on “#ThankfulThursday – End of July Version

  1. Read your post on law school. 🙂 From someone who did go, and admittedly does love her job – if I had to do it over again I don’t know that I would go. I liked school, I like being a lawyer, but I really don’t like all the debt that goes with it. There are lots of ways to make a difference and do the type of work you want to do without being saddled with the debt. The right job is out there just waiting for you to show up!

    • Thanks for your input, Lindsey! I am so happy you love your job. And I hope it came across that I probably have more respect now for attorneys of all sorts than I did before. Seriously takes some courage and passion.

      Thanks for the kind words and stay in touch!

Leave a Reply

